Critical and Creative Thinking Pedagogies

critical-thinking-humanities Leigh and I had an opportunity to attend this workshop at UQ today…day 1 of 2 days…I wasn’t quite sure what to expect and had really signed up believing there might be a link to some ideas I had been having about making our teaching and learning more creative and engaging.  I had signed up just after I had read the work about curiosity and presented the session on student free days…with that in mind it turned out to be different than what I thought but still interesting and worth considering when we look at what is important for our students.  It’s focus today was more about critical thinking and the importance of the values of inquiry in our classes.  We covered a lot of things today and I won’t go into them at this point but it warrants further research.  We were presented with 3 Imperatives at the end of the day:

  1. Shift the focus from knowledge to inquiry
  2. Speak and plan in the language of student cognition
  3. Work collaboratively when thinking can be shared

Some other resources:

http://pactiss.org/

And just for fun:

dilbert2-e1420462314920

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *